Home > Blogroll > Whoa, take ‘er easy there pilgrim

Whoa, take ‘er easy there pilgrim

Dateline: Thanksgiving 2K8

So-am I thankful for anything at all? yeah, I guess. Really makes no difference to me who actually is President of these United States. But if I had to choose, we got one right. Mr. Obama, btw, is all ready responsible for one miracle. He made Oprah look human, as she watched him give his acceptance speech to the crowd in Linkin Park. Or whatever park that was in Chicago. It wasn’t Wrigley Field—Cubs didn’t get that World Series, but Illinoisians do get bragging rights for the first new Pres from their state since, amazingly enough, Abe Lincoln. Hmmmm Three weeks later, Oprah is back to her insufferable self. We can only hope President Obama has a few more miracles up his sleeve.

One of my friends from Europe asked how people in the South were taking the election results. I told her I rarely talked to the locals here in Bubbadoon. Even if I did, I wouldn’t talk politics. I got in trouble a long time ago for giving my opinions on things geo-political. And that was in New Jersey! I learned my lesson. Mostly.

Thanksgiving, the holiday, not the concept, is an American celebration. Apparently we need to have a major holiday once a month to keep us happy, if not thankful. The bonhomie of the first Thanksgiving wore off right around the time some of those hardy Euro germs hopped off Pilgrim Myles Standish’s shoe buckles and onto Squanto. That and the drunken fights around the table about who Priscilla Alden was sleeping with & who dropped out of divinity school last semester but never told anyone.

This is however, my favorite time of year. Why? because it’s baseball free agency/trading season! Last year was all about Johan Santana, it went on forever & was a bit one note. But for 2008 we have some intriguing players, sure to warm up the Hot Stove, though not the cockles of your heart. One is CC Sabathia, a very good pitcher, who will command a big paycheck. So far, he’s not taken a bite at what the Yankees have put on the table. If you’ve ever seen CC, that’s no doubt a first.

The real gem though is Manny Ramirez. If any one has read this old blog, he’s a favorite of mine. This past season he strong armed his way out of that dump Boston & got himself traded to the Los Angeles Dodgers. He proceeded to lead them to the playoffs, and though they, like the aforementioned Cubs, (whom LA beat) failed to make the WS, he did create excitement in Hollywood, dubbed Mannywood for that brief shining moment. Sadly, (for Dodger fans, not Manny) he’s a free agent. AND his agent is one Scott Boras, the scourge of every MLB general manager. Boras never met a player he couldn’t over hype & overprice. For example spinning moron Jason Varitek’s bad 2K8 stats as still well above league average for a Cro Magnon! Oddly, he often gets the deal done too! [ done 1.30.09 — awwwwww so sweet yak]

Now he no longer plays for Boston ( yes I hate them ), I have a modicum of detachment as regards ManRam’s baseball talent. He’s a great hitter. Erratic fielder. Mercurial personality, who at times, is a thug. That said, if he wasn’t considered old at 37, by baseball standards, I’d want him in the Bronx. Since he lived there as a kid, he’d fit right in, in more ways than one. But he wants too many Manny years on the deal, along with Manny money. Good luck hombre. [ Manny – still at liberty ]

I do want to mention that a podcast I regularly downloaded is ending it’s run. It took hours to do it too, because my dial up doesn’t allow me to listen to streaming anything, live. Yankee Fan Club Radio will be history as of Dec. 7 and I will miss it. So long Ty, Joe & Tony—first the Stadium gets the wrecking ball, now you. No way I’m thankful for that.

I don’t have turkey on Thanksgiving—too much el Tryptophan, I’m naturally drowsy. I carboload me some huge plates of spaghetti ( pasta? that’s a poof word. ) Probably catch up on some NetFlix, (*no John Wayne titles though, I don’t like things more than 5 years old.) And of course, I’ll be shining those shoe buckles. . ..

________________________________________________________________________________

n.b. I decided I am thankful for Bridget Regan-she is as committed an actor as I have ever seen take on an esoteric fanboy rôle ( Kahlan Amnell/Legend of the Seeker ). She is intensely excellent!

Categories: Blogroll
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

