Good Luck

Sure, maybe I do have nothing better to do. Maybe. Would that make something ignorant left unchallenged, a pearl of wisdom? When I was working in the media everyone from owners, management ( well, natch ) to the paperkid, felt free to criticize & correct me. When I was wrong or had made a mistake, I fixed it. I routinely called to find out local pronunciations after having once said heth ( saying it as in beth ) for a proper name which looked an awful lot like heth: spelled H e t h. It was actually pronounced like heath ( as in heeth)! I had to go lie down the rest of the day, but next time, I said it right, dammit! I didn’t keep saying it wrong just because I thought it should be said my way. Is that a concept simple enough to grasp?

Others are allowed mistakes. But when they repeat them and have high paying gigs, I grow bitter & resentful. I’m only human. Human, btw, a word I was told I said wrong because I prefer the listed second way, without the pretentious breath on the H. What a freakin’ mess.

The disturbing trend of ‘ perception is reality, ‘ is really deplorable. It means if you want you can make anything the way you like it to be. I wish that worked at the bank. ” Hi, I’d like to tell you there are 6 more places to the left of that decimal point. I believe that so I’d now like to withdraw 2 million bucks. Thank you & have a nice day. . ..”

But just because you’re a stupid sports talk guy doesn’t mean you can force your moronic mistakes on me. OK, sure, I could choose not to listen. But 1) I want to hear baseball talk in the morning and 2) then the terrorists win if I don’t tune in. I don’t care if you are a 5th generation farmer, the word teat is pronounced tit. Why oh why oh why. At least I know why I’m unemployable, my last ownership had doctorates and Master’s degrees and couldn’t pronounce my name correctly. AND they bought the place & didn’t even know what my real name was. Not that it mattered one beat or bit or whatever, to them.

Speaking of the bank: why are 99% of all customer service reps automatons? Don’t answer, it won’t help. Holy moley it’s like trying to ice skate in a pigsty. Backwards. During a heatwave. In Texas! Smell what I’m cooking Dan Rather? Each day, in every way, I grow to admire the late George Sanders, actor. He knew when to get out. These were his last known words, left in his suicide note:

“Dear World, I am leaving because I am bored. I feel I have lived long enough. I am leaving you with your worries in this sweet cesspool. Good luck.”

‘ Sweet?’ I’d have just gone with simply cesspool. Wow, I even disagree with dead guys I admire. Hmmmm maybe it’s actually pronounced sweat! That would make ESPN & the jockocracy happy. . ..

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

